Orissa Information Technology Society (OITS) conducted a quiz test at senior (MCA, BE, B.Sc.(Eng) and B.Sc.(hons)) and junior (upto class XII and Diploma in Engg.) levels with separate questions, on 24th September, 2006. We contacted Berhampur, Puri, Sambalpur/Burla, Rourkela, Sarang, Cuttack, Dhenkanal, Raygada, Balasore, Damanjodi, Paradeep, Angul, Paralakhemundi, Balasore and Bhubaneswar. About 1560 students registered for the same, and around 1200 students appeared. Organisationally, the contest was modelled the same way as last year. This year there was a very positive response from Rourkela, Sambalpur/Burla, Raygada and Balasore and some other places as additional venues. The response from Bhubaneswar has been decreased compared to last year because of BPUT internal examinations. Professor Sudarshan Padhy, Coordinator, IT Olympiad mainly organised this activity, with able assistance from many people as announced as well as many others, including M.Tech. (Comp Sc) students, who were not eligible to contest, and young faculty members, came forward to help. This year we did central valuation with participation of more than twenty faculty members. The results at senior and junior levels are as below.


(In order of merit, total of 15 students)

1. Kaustav Kumar Mishra, 7th Semester IT, KITS, BBS

2. Sidharth Kumar Mishra, 7th Semester, CS, KEC, BBSR

3. Pavan Bhattad, 5th Semester, CS, NIT, RKL

3. Prakash Kumar, 3rd Semester, MCA, KIIT, BBS

4. Asish Ghoshal, 5th Semester, CS, NIST, BMP

5. Tanima Parida, 7th Semester, CS, SIT, BBS

6. Souvik Kundu, 5th Semester, MCA, KIIT, BBS

6. P. Prabin Kumar Patro, 5th Semester, CS, KIIT, BBS

7. Biswajit Pati, 7th Semester, IT, KIIT, BBS

8. Abhijit Mishra, 7th Semester, CS, GHITM, PURI

8. Govinda Kinkar Sahu, 5th Semester, MCA, NIST, BMP

9. Ashok S. O., 3rd Semester,CS, NIT, RKL

10.Rajiv Kumar Singh, 3rd Semester, MCA,ITER, BBSR

10.Swati Swagatika Mishra, 5th Semester, MCA, CITE, BBS

Special Prize(BSc). Subharanjan Mantri, +3, 3rd Year ,GM College, SBP


(In order of merit, total of 16 students)

1. Siddharth Mohanty, Class XI, St Paul's School, RKL

2. Amitav Mohanty, Class XII, Ispat EM School, RKL

3. Aditya Bikram Pattnaik, +2, 2nd Yr., Khallikote Junior College, BMP

4. Smarak Suryapraksh, Class X, St Paul's School, RKL

5. Animesh Das, Class XI, DAV Public School, CS Pur, BBS

6. Prateek Pandab, Class X, St Paul's School, RKL

6. Anup Biswanath Dixit, Class X, Bethany Convent School, Paradip

7. Swastik Mohapatra, Class X, St Paul school, RKL

7. Mahameghabahan Aiyra Kharabela Rout, 5th Semester-CSE(Diploma), Nilachal Polytechnic, BBS

8. Subhendu Bohidar, Class XI, St Paul's School, RKL

8. Priyesh Jain, Class XII, St Paul's School,RKL

9. Anand Tirkey, Class XI, Ispat Eng med School, RKL

9. Soubhagya Sutar, Class XII, Deepika EM School, RKL

10. Srijit Mohanty, Class X, Blessed Sacrament High School, PURI

10. Nishant Das, Class X, St Paul's School, RKL

10. D. Pankaj, Class XII, St Paul's School, RKL

Prize Distribution, 26th November, 2006

The prize amounts are Rs.3000, Rs.2000, and Rs.1000 for those ranking first, second and third, and Rs.500 each for all the others. Prize distribution function was held on 26th November, 2006 at 3 pm. Vishal Dev, Director, IT, Government of Orissa, and CE0, OCAC was the Chief Guest, and A K Das, Head, Infosys, Bhubaneswar was the guest of honour. After S Padhy President, OITS gave an introduction to the activities of oits, there was an interactive session with the prize winners where some queries of the prize winners was answered. It was nice to hear the desire of some of the students to participate in oits activities for improvement of IT in Orissa. Vishal Dev talked about the general scenario of IT in Orissa. A K Das said that any help that Infosys can give to improve the program shall be attended to. The function ended with a vote of thanks by A K Das, Secretary, OITS.

There were some students who could not collect their prizes as they had an examination and could not attend the function. They are advised to contact S Padhy (spadhy04@yahoo.com) or A K Nayak (ajitnayak2000@yahoo.co.in) and collect the same at their earliest convenience.